The Weekend Leader - Jharkhand records 29.56% polling (2nd Lead) (11 a.m.)

Jharkhand records 29.56% polling (2nd Lead) (11 a.m.)



Jharkhand on Monday recorded 29.56 per cent voter turnout in the first four hours of polling for four parliamentary constituencies, an official said.

Ranchi, Hazaribagh, Koderma and Khuti recorded 30.059 per cent, 29.05 per cent, 30.80 per cent and 27.21 per cent voter turnout, respectively till 11 a.m., the Election Commission data showed.

Voting for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in the state started at 7 a.m. and will end at 4 p.m.

Jharkhand Governor Draupdi Mumru, Union Minister of Civil Aviation Jayant Sinha, former Chief Minister Arjun Munda also exercised their franchise. 

A total of 61 candidates are in the fray for the four seats -- 14 in Koderma, 20 in Ranchi, 11 in Khunti and 16 in Hazaribagh.

A total of 65,87,028 voters are eligible to vote on these seats across 8,834 polling booths. 

The prominent candidates in the race for these seats are Rajkumar Yadav of the CPI(ML), Babulal Marandi of JVM(P) and Annapurna Devi of the BJP in Koderma; Sanjay Seth of the BJP and Subodhkant Sahai of the Congress in Ranchi; Arjun Munda of the BJP and Kalicharan Munda of the Congress in Khunti and Jayant Sinha of the BJP, Gopal Sahu of the Congress and Bhuneshwar Prasad Mehta of the CPI in Hazaribagh.

Milky Mist Cheese