The Weekend Leader - Trinamool passes no-trust motion in Bhatpara civic body

Trinamool passes no-trust motion in Bhatpara civic body



A no-confidence motion moved by Trinamool Congress members against BJP-ruled Bhatpara Municipality Chairman Sourav Singh was passed by a 19-0 margin in a special session of the civic body called under the directive of the Calcutta High Court.

Five days back, the motion had been passed by an identical margin, but the Calcutta High Court declared the entire process as null and void and ordered a repeat.

None of the BJP councillors attended the session.

The entire voting process was videographed as per the court's order. Prohibitory orders under section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code were imposed and the Rapid Action Force and a large posse of police personnel were deployed in the municipality premises to prevent any breach of peace.

BJP leader and Barrackpore Lok Sabha MP Arjun Singh said his party councillors kept away from the session as the saffron outfit has already moved the Supreme Court on the issue.

State minister and Trinamool Congress leader Jyotipriyo Mullick said the results will be the same irrespective of the number of times the voting was held.IANS 

Milky Mist Cheese