The Weekend Leader - Voting begins in Kashmir assembly polls

Voting begins in Kashmir assembly polls



Balloting began Tuesday in 16 assembly constituencies in the third round of the five-phase elections in Jammu and Kashmir, officials said.

Over 13 lakh voters will get to decide the political fate of 138 candidates in the districts of Baramulla, Budgam and Pulwama at 1,781 polling stations.

Polling started at 8 a.m. and will end at 4 p.m.

Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, Chowdhary Taj Mohiuddin, Ghulam Hassan Mir, Abdul Rahim Rather and Javaid Ahmad Dar are among the prominent candidates.

No constituency in Jammu region goes to the polls Tuesday.

Over 500 companies of Jammu and Kashmir Police and the Central Reserve Police Force have been deployed following the terror attacks of Dec 5 that left 21 people dead.

Milky Mist Cheese