Goa Deputy Speaker resigns, may be inducted in Cabinet



Michael Lobo, the lone BJP lawmaker tipped to be sworn-in as a Minister in the Pramod Sawant-led Cabinet, resigned as Deputy Speaker of the Goa Legislative Assembly on Saturday.

"BJP MLA Michael Lobo has resigned as Deputy Speaker. I have accepted his resignation," Speaker Rajesh Patnekar told reporters at the Assembly.

According to Sawant, four new ministers -- three of whom are likely to be picked from the 10 Congress MLAs who defected to the BJP on Wednesday -- are expected to be sworn-in at the Raj Bhavan at 3 p.m. today.

The four ministers will replace Deputy Chief Minister Vijai Sardesai as well as Ministers Jayesh Salgaocar, Vinod Palienkar (all from Goa Forward Party) and Rohan Khaunte (Independent MLA).