AIADMK, PMK, DMK nominees file papers for RS polls from Tamil Nadu



 Former state Ministers A. Mohammed John and N. Chandrasekaran, the two AIADMK candidates, on Monday filed their nomination papers here for the upcoming biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

N.R. Elango of the Opposition DMK also filed his papers. Former Union Minister Anbumani Ramadoss of the Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), which has been allotted one seat by ally AIADMK, is also in the fray. 

As is DMK ally Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) Secretary General Vaiko, who had filed his papers on Saturday, along with the two DMK nominees, M. Shanmugham and P. Wilson.

Vaiko, who had earlier served as a DMK Rajya Sabha member from 1978 to 1996, has been convicted in a sedition case and a final decision on his nomination will be taken by the Returning Officer during the scrutiny process on Tuesday. 

In case Vaiko's candidature is found in order, DMK's Elango is expected to withdraw his papers by July 11, the last date for withdrawing nominations. 

Speaking to reporters at Dindigul on Monday, Vaiko said that it was he who had suggested to the DMK to field an alternative candidate in case his own papers were rejected, following which Elango had filed his nomination. 

Expressing confidence that his papers would be accepted following scrutiny, Vaiko also said that Elango would withdraw once his own nomination was accepted. 

The AIADMK has 123 MLAs in the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly, while the DMK has a strength of 101. DMK ally Congress has seven MLAs, there is one Independent member, while two seats are vacant.

The elections are being held to fill up the vacancies caused by the retirement of five Rajya Sabha members -- T. Rathinavel, V. Maitreyan, K.B. Arjunan, R. Lakshmanan (all AIADMK), D. Raja (CPI) -- and the resignation of DMK's Kanimozhi following her win in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.IANS