BJP wins six, Congress three in Gujarat



The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tuesday won six assembly seats, while the Congress won three in Gujarat. The ruling BJP also won the Vadodara Lok Sabha Sabha by over 300,000 votes.

Bypolls for nine assembly seats - Maninagar, Deesa, Tankara, Khambhalia, Mangrol, Talaja, Anand, Matar and Limkheda, and one parliamentary seat - Vadodara were held Sep 13.

On Tuesday, the Congress won three assembly seats - Deesa, Khambhalia and Mangrol, by a notable margin. It thanked the people for its victory.

The remaining six assembly seats, including the Maninagar seat which was vacated by then chief minister Narendra Modi, were won by the BJP.

Vadodara was retained by the BJP after Deputy Mayor Ranjanben Bhatt won against Congress candidate Narendra Rawat by over 300,000 votes.

The seat was vacated by Modi after he was elected to parliament from two places, including Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

During the general elections, Modi had won this seat by over 500,000 votes.

Modi became the prime minister on May 26. - IANS