US imposes new sanctions on Russia over Ukraine



The White House announced fresh sanctions Monday against Russia, targeting seven government officials and 17 companies.

These people, among them two from Russian President Vladimir Putin's inner circle, and entities were hit with visa ban and asset freeze in response to what the White House called Moscow's "continued illegal intervention in Ukraine and provocative acts".

The Obama administration also took steps against high technology exports to the Russian defence industry, Xinhua cited White House spokesman Jay Carney as saying in a statement.

In response, Russia vowed Monday to deliver a "painful" response to the fresh US sanctions.

European Union (EU) leaders will meet to decide on adding more names to a list of proscribed Russian individuals alleged to have links to separatist actions in Ukraine.

Along with the US and EU, the Group of Seven or G7 (US, Britain, Canada, France, Germany, Italy and Japan) industrialised countries have also planned to take further steps against Russia.

Pentagon spokesman Col. Steven Warren had last week disclosed that Russian aircraft had entered Ukrainian airspace several times and asked Moscow to take immediate steps to de-escalate the situation.

The US termed this incident "dangerously destabilising" and "very provocative."- IANS